I’ve started biking to work, and though it is seriously kicking my out of shape butt, it’s also been very fun. It’s satisfying to feel like, with one action, you are accomplishing several goals. The last time I filled up my car with gas, it cost more than $50 (and I get terrible mileage, so the tank doesn’t last long), so it’s nice to just leave the car in the driveway and know i am saving money. I think I’m most excited about they physical benefits – though I’m not sure when to expect them to start kicking in. I’ve been doing this for a couple of weeks now – not every day, but as much as I can with work schedule, etc. And some days have felt easier than others. But today felt just as hard as Day 1. Friends I know who bike a lot tell me that’s pretty normal, that there’s an adjustment period for your body. I’m just hoping to pass some kind of threshold soon where I feel like I’ve made some progress, stamina-wise.

The other thing I really like about it is it feels a bit more personal than being in a car. When I pass other people on bikes, they tend to smile or nod hello, which makes me feel like I’m in the “in-crowd.” And other pedestrians are friendly, when you are stopped at lights. It makes me feel like I’m part of a community, which I’ve never felt driving through downtown.

